A few questions on c++/how JA is coded...

Dusty

Well, I said a few, but only one have I that I can think of off the top of my head:

I see weird things in the code I don't understand really at all, in simple things like If statements.'

A big one is "if ( functionname() ) { body of statements }":

How do you say "if" a function call? It doesn't say "if ( functionname() = 1 )", but just that, seeming like an incomplete sentence. What is the if statement testing in this case? Is it just checking if the function returns some kind of value at all or some default value that's implied?

Also, I think I just subliminally answered my own question, but what's with if/switch statements that say for their condition things like "activeDefense()" or "!activeDefense?" How can I "activeDefense()" or "not-activeDefense()"? Are they boolean functions or something where you can do that I guess maybe?

I'm not a coder, but the scripting we use is very similar to C#.

In scripting I might do something like that to see if a function and it's subsequent code has been executed since it is crucial to the function I'm threading. If not, return; or run func to grab my information in a global array to pass between several functions that are threaded and waiting for a flag, notify or specific information.

The syntax is

if(booleanExpression) {...}
If the boolean expression evaluates to true, the block is executed. that is, in

if(true) f();
if(false) g();
f gets executed and g does not.

Comparisons (==) return a Boolean value - two things are either equal or they're not. But you never need to compare two Booleans - they're already either true or false. Instead of x == true you might as well right x, and instead of x == false you can write !x.

Also, C (and by extension C++) loves implicitly converting variables. Like int to bool - 0 is false, everything else is true. So if(42) evaluates to if(true).

By the way,

if ( functionname() = 1 )