Jump to content

World Between Worlds 11-11-2021

   (14 reviews)

6 Screenshots

About This File

This map is a personal interpretation of the World Between Worlds as seen in the show Star Wars Rebels.
 

Hello there, it is me, Reepray 😃

This map was started and released a year ago, and since then I felt it needed an update. The last updates have aimed to improve the visual aspect of the map. It now has music and when strolling around the map you'll sometimes hear Morai hoot  😃

I hope you like the new look! It should more closely resemble the show, plus be less obnoxious to the eyes due to the now blueish color of the portals and paths, and the improved skybox textures, which are less cluttered with stars and of higher resolution.

The map is built to support Duel and small FFA/TFFA. The map has only been tested in the vanilla game.

For more information please read this copy of the readme file (Version November 11, 2021)

Spoiler

World Between Worlds - by Reep -
Version: November 11, 2021

#########################
Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy
#########################

TITLE: World Between Worlds
AUTHOR: Reepray
DISCORD: Reep#2977

FILENAME: wbw_reep.pk3
MAP NAME: wbw
FILESIZE: 12.5 MB
DATE RELEASED: November 2020
LAST UPDATE RELEASED: November 11, 2021

BOT SUPPORT: NO bot support.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INSTALLATION:

Extract the .pk3 file into your base folder.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DESCRIPTION:

My personal interpretation of the World Between Worlds, first seen on the show Star Wars Rebels.

Falling from a path into space will result in the player being teleported to a specific portal at the top of the map.
The teleport destination is set up to throw you for a smooth landing onto a path intersection.

No fall damage on any surface.
You'll sometimes hear Morai the convor hoot 😃

Please note: I play the vanilla game, and so the map was developed for the vanilla game. Big overhauling mods could cause
unwanted behaviors like bots or npcs dying from fall damage, even though there should be no fall damage at all,
or dying cause the amout of time spent falling.

MUSIC:
"Burying the Dead" composed by Kevin Kiner. Part of the Star Wars: The Clone Wars season seven soundtrack.

GAME MODES:
The map is built to support Duel and small FFA/TFFA.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BUGS / WARNINGS:
NO BOT SUPPORT!
No botroutes for now. I can't seem to get them working properly.

Due to technical limitations paths at a distance look jarring, and portals disappear from view. There is not much
we can do about this... it's in the nature of the map.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
COMMENTS:
All shaders were created by me.

The portal drawings were found all grouped on a single image on the Internet, which I took and modified to split them, improve them a bit and
add transparency, recolor them and add a few missing details.
The two marble textures were found on a free textures website and then modified a bit.

The map was originally a lot smaller, meant to be a simple extra themed dueling room for another map,
so since things were not as far apart it looked mostly OK.

ANYONE can use and modify the contents of the file wbw_reep.pk3 as long as they give proper credit
and keep this readme file, I guess renamed to something like original_wbw_readme. Thanks 😃

CHANGELOG:
--------------------------- Small fix update November 11, 2021 -----------------------
Repainted the Malachor V portal symbols as they weren't being drawn properly by the game due to the changes made in the previous update.

-------------------------- FORTH UPDATE: November 08, 2021 ------------------------
Improved portal images by removing some weird artifacts that appeared because I messed up when trying to recolor them :P. Thanks to Spaghetti!

-------------------------- THIRD UPDATE: October 2021 -------------------------
Changed the color of portals and path lines from plain white to a more blueish/grayish white, which is
a bit more accurate and more pleasing to the eyes 😃

Completely remade the skybox images, now 4k, more clean, bit less darker blackness of space, far less cluttered with stars, stars are smaller. Overall less obstructing to the eyes
which makes the paths and portals pop out more. The edges of the skybox are harder to see, still a bit noticeable but far far less than before.

Added 4 generic portals and some path lines to the main 'plaza' of the map, which makes it easier to orientate when dueling.

--------------------------- SECOND UPDATE: April 01, 2021 --------------------------
Bugfixes and Sith Alchemy altar
Added, with some extra effort as a thanks to everyone, a cameraportal for the 'Sith portal', the one Sidious uses,
with his Sith Alchemy altar. Hope you like it 😃

Slightly adjusted positioning of all portals relative to paths.

-------------------------- FIRST UPDATE: November 25, 2020-----------------------------
Replaced system/clip with system/physics_clip on floor brushes, which allows for spring jumps, wallgrabs, and I guess other interactions.

Fixed skybox textures by removing stars that got cut at the edges. Not the best skybox but it's the best I can do at the
moment.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SPECIAL THANKS to the following mappers:
- Prospero, for introducing me to mapping, helping me learn a ton of stuff and inspiring me
- Rhendo D'Kana, for inspiring me, teaching me a ton of stuff, having cool ideas and helping in testing
- Zach D'Kana, for inspiring me, teaching me a lof of stuff, having cool ideas and helping in testing
- Mag D'Kana, for teaching me some stuff, being an awesome mapping partner, helping in testing
and inspiring me to realease this map 😃

Thank you for downloading 😃

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS FILE IS NOT MADE, DISTRIBUTED, OR SUPPORTED BY ACTIVISION, RAVEN, OR LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY LLC. ELEMENTS TM & © LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY LLC AND/OR ITS LICENSORS.

 

Original (release day) text explaining the motivation behind the creation of this map 😃

Spoiler

Hello there, my name is Reep, and this is the first map I've published and probably ever will.

Basically, a few days ago I remembered reading about a mod request post asking for a map of the World Between Worlds...

So I thought I could try to do something like that to learn and to add in the form of an extra room to a map I was/am working on, but since I won't be releasing that map ever I thought I should make the World Between Worlds room a separate, expanded map, and release it.

I wanted it to resemble the looks of the show as much as possible within reason/restraints, personal preference and lack of higher knowledge, though note that my main focus here was not to create an exact replica of the layout as seen in the show but rather my interpretation of it, so as to be playable for duels or small FFA/TFFA.

THIS FILE IS NOT MADE, DISTRIBUTED, OR SUPPORTED BY ACTIVISION, RAVEN SOFTWARE, OR LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY LLC. ELEMENTS™ & © LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY, LLC AND/OR ITS LICENSORS.


What's New in Version 11-11-2021

Released

 

  • (November 08) Improved portal images by removing some weird artifacts that appeared because I messed up when trying to recolor them 😛 Thanks to Spaghetti!

  • (November 11) Repainted the Malachor V portal symbols as they weren't being drawn properly by the game due to the changes made in the previous update.

User Feedback

Create an account or sign in to leave a review

You need to be a member in order to leave a review

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

AngelModder

Wow.... 9/10 Some of the texture quality could have been better but other then that very well done I absolutely loved this! ❤️❤️ 

I'm AngelModder and I approve this mod LOL!!!

Response from the author:

Thanks a lot! 😃

Reepray likes this
Link to review
Spaghetti

Skybox seems a little low res but is otherwise a good looking map well suited to dueling. Great job!

Response from the author:

Thanks! 😃

Yeah, I love mapping but I'm not very good at creating textures, specially for skyboxes.

I have it in mind for if in the future I learn to do something better, though anyone with a tiny bit of pk3 editing knowledge could overwrite the skybox textures with better ones they find or create.

Reepray likes this
Link to review
MagSul

I was wondering when I'd see this place put out! You've done a superb job with it and I really enjoy running around in it. It was noticeably quiet and I feel some ambient noise or music could nudge it from a 4.5 star to a 5.0 star from me. Keep up the great work! ☺️

Response from the author:

I thought about adding music, but I sure didn't think about adding some kind of ambient sound. You are totally right about that, it definitely needs one that resembles the show.

Also, thanks for the kind words! I am really happy with the looks of the map, except the skybox... On the other hand, I really don't think it is a good map to play on. At most I can do 2 duels before getting dizzy xD

Though it seems it might be really useful for other modders to use on their projects, which makes me quite happy 😃

 

Reepray likes this
Link to review
Saruga

Great job! 
Keep up the good work, it looks amazing!

Response from the author:

Thanks! 😃

Reepray likes this
Link to review
BenSolo

Oh please don't say that this is the first and last map you'll ever publish, I for one want to see more of your impressive work! 

Response from the author:

Happy you like it 😃

Hmm... Difficult to see... Always in motion is the future.

Reepray likes this
Link to review
Asgarath83

WOW!!! GREAT MAN! You golden!!!

I want to make a project on jka when heroes switch between dimensions and that's is exactly as i need as base for build the "hyperspace realm plane" a plane that allow to switch between maps and planets throught portals!

thanks man! Really!!! :D

 

Reepray likes this
Link to review
ZanderNao

This map turned out wonderfully. It was above and beyond based on the initial concept and has great variety. The only downside is that the draw distance in Jedi Academy makes the lines look weird from a distance, but that's the game engine and not the map. The map is flawless and highly sought after. Perfect work and an amazing entry!

Response from the author:

Thanks a lot! 😃

Reepray likes this
Link to review
×
×
  • Create New...