JK GAME CRASH

I thought I would stick this here as I didn't really find a lot of subject on this site about it. And there is quite a lot of new players from the Steam community asking about these games crashing and not working. Some people have a specific PC / rig and have major issues. Others might have the same PC and OS and have no issues. Can anyone shed some more light on this? Is it a development issue or are there more specifics? For example, I just went to test a couple levels the other day on Jedi Outcast. I added 2 bots, joined the game and my PC froze. WTH? I've been running this game on this PC for the last 2 years with no issues. Now all of a sudden I add BOTs of all things and it crashes?!?! No bots, it runs just fine. JA has no issues. I think the major issues for other players for the most part is that the game doesn't run AT ALL. When it's first fired up, it crashes immediately. I know the game doesn't cost that much but it seems to be riddled with issues. It would be nice if these people had more solutions here that they havn't tried already.

When the game first came out I bought it and it wouldn't work on my computer, it had to do with the open gl lighting i think.  I took the game back and got Grand theft Auto 3.  It wasn't until I purchased a new computer that it started working for me and history has been set since then.  I can only speculate about what my problem was, maybe that open gl lighting has something to do with the game not working for some people.

Can you post any error messages? How do you know it's crashed? Can you provide screenshots? Can you post any error messages?

Nope. Only that my screen and PC was frozen. Otherwise YES, I would have provided some information. It's a windows 7 PC. ATI Radeon 4300/4500.

Yes that's what it is even with the latest drivers. So the issue is this:

Jedi Academy (and Jedi Outcast) games are built on top of the Quake III engine, which uses OpenGL, not Direct3D.