A script for OpenJK

Ok i'm not good at all with coding so i'm requesting this for OpenJK.

I mostly play Solo Mode with bots. The only problem is if there are maps which have no bot paths, bots just constantly jump all the time. And bots are rubbish anyway as they don't use the characters actual voice.

This is why I just spawn NPC's into a cheat enabled Solo Server. They use their own voices and don't jump around all the time, they act normal as they should.

So the script I would like.. would be to respawn the same NPC after the NPC gets killed every time. That's it. Nothing more to it. I don't expect the script to make the respawning identical to bot respawning (with the green sphere thing), but this way the NPC would act as a bot without all the ridiculous jumping and will actually use the voices properly.

I would just like this script as an executable cfg or something that I can just activate once and it works always.

I don't expect to have this worked on straight away, or even at all. However I do appreciate the attention to this request! :)

I don't think that a script is the best way to proceed here, simply because you can't control where the spawns would be at.

I think a better option would be to copy the BSP and make an ent-modded version of the map. This way you can place scripted elements like buttons to turn on/off spawning.

therfiles likes this

I don't think that a script is the best way to proceed here, simply because you can't control where the spawns would be at.

I think a better option would be to copy the BSP and make an ent-modded version of the map. This way you can place scripted elements like buttons to turn on/off spawning.

An easier option could be to make a script to disable jumping completely. That way bots will respawn and won't keep spam jumping everywhere.

• 2 weeks later...

Well, i am not a script expert. maybe @@therfiles know if there is something about that. he's a good scripter.