Major PC modifications, would appreciate feedback!

This is my current PC. It's been with me since late 2012.

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=c03531729

My trusty standard HP Pavilion has been collecting dust pretty bad and the machine is very insufficient for any modern day gaming standards. I'd like to completely overhaul the thing or just build an entirely new PC with some salvaged parts from the original. I'm on a budget of $550. Because of my budget, overhauling the original PC instead of building a new one seems most preferable.

First of all, I've never built or dissembled a computer before, but I've been researching how to do so for quite some time, figuring out what is compatible and what isn't what parts give the most bang per dollar, etc.

In the original computer I will save the case,harddrive, network card, modem, sound card, dvd drive and the USB card. Unfortunately, I don't believe I can salvage the RAM. I'll explain why later on.

Here are the parts I intend to buy for the overhaul:

GPU - EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING, ACX 2.0 (Single Fan), 6GB

(went on a slight discount on amazon recently. Really happy about that!)

https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Support-Graphics-06G-P4-6161-KR/dp/B01IPVSGEC/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1477425154&sr=1-4&keywords=gtx%2B1060&th=1

CPU - Intel 3.70 GHz Core i3-6100 3M Cache Processor

(Probably the best CPU you can get for the price. Dual core only is a little concerning, however.)

https://www.amazon.com/Intel-i3-6100-Cache-Processor-BX80662I36100/dp/B015VPX2EO/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1478561741&sr=1-1&keywords=i5+6100

Motherboard - Gigabyte LGA1151 Intel H110 Micro ATX DDR4 Motherboard GA-H110M-A

(Meant only for DDR4, I believe?)

https://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-LGA1151-Intel-Motherboard-GA-H110M/dp/B0165YUDTM

RAM - Ballistix Sport LT 8GB Single DDR4 2400 MT/s (PC4-19200)