Problems with skeleton in blender?

I'm new to modding and have been working really hard on a player model in blender 2.64 for about a month (had to use 2.64 because I couldn't get the 2.79+ plugin to work, not sure why). So far, it's been going great and I've been able to figure everything out. I've got my model how I want it to look but there's a couple of problems....First of all, every time I try to set the parent object of some of the objects, they just seem to disappear???? Why would this happen???? Second of all, whenever I try to export my model, I get a weird message: "could not load surface l_arm_0 from blender: could not load a vertex: could not retrieve vertex bone weights: l_arm_0 has no armature modifier". What does this mean and how do I fix it? I'm so confused about weight painting, rigging, animations, gla, etc...help would be appreciated. 

7 hours ago, Ramikad said:

Most likely, the parented objects don't disappear, but are moved and scaled around the place: one way you could minimize the issue is to apply location, rotation and scale of the object (CTRL + A? that way, when you parent it to another object, for example a part of a base model, it will take on the location, rotation and scale of the parent object - in the aforementioned case of the base model part, it will be scaled to 1/10th of its size. You can then just scale it back (S 10) and apply object scale (CTRL + A).