Is this still being worked on?

Is this still being developed? What are the odds of a online RPG coming from this mod? I get that there are 4 phases but is it wishful thinking at this point to reach the last one?
Wouldnt it have been easier to just reduce the scope? Rather then a ton of weapons and updates to them, putting focus on only quest-rpg-inventory-32 players-progression system (no more) and let people kinda do their own thing (think Lugormod meets DayZ-ish).
A mod similar to MB2 in terms of scale mightve been more likely to pull off. But the whole MMO aspect makes it seem too big. Couldnt the focus have been placed at getting the RPG aspect to work online with 32 players and then release updates to update guns and such rather than doing it the opposite way?

Im really talking out of my ass now, I just wish this mod the best. Obviously im no developer :P

Smoo likes this

That's really the point of the phase system, focusing on the biggest mechanics of each phase that are still major features of the more RPG-like phases of the mod. The new vendor system that was just coded into the game uses what we call a Treasure Class, this is something that can be used for Vendors, Loot drops, What weapon an NPC will spawn with etc. This is a small, but crucial feature to an RPG.

The Damage Type system I concepted ties into giving a reason to wear armor and give purpose to each weapon as opposed to "get whatever you can afford that you can do the most damage with", you still have the freedom of choice of what to equip yourself with, but with damage types, armor, shields (think Republic Commando here), your choices have meaning.

In terms of adding more weapons into the game (I know I know, enough already!) I'm pretty much purely focused on making sure that there's a decent variety of each of the weapon types (such as the pulse pistol I modeled tonight) Blaster, Slugthrower, ACP, Pulse, etc.