HELP coding Rakghoul disease from Kotor.

Hey guys, I'm not really on the forums all that much, but I was wondering if anyone a little more code savvy, as I'm just learning and have only coded a weapon and some follow functions, could help me with something.  I'm trying to mimic the Rakghoul disease from kotor 1.  

I want to make it so that if an npc named "rakghoul" kills an npc, the game spawns npc "rakghoul" at the last known enemy location.  

So, essentially, if a rakghoul kills someone, it spawns another, as if they were infected and turned in to a rakghoul.  I've been playing around but can't seem to figure out how to make it work quite right.  Like a zombie effect.

mmm, i think should be a force power of a custom rakghoul NPCs.

check the code of the droid that disappering their model when they are destroyed (probe droid, mouse droid)

This code spawn an effect on a point of a model.

you need to make the code part inside an if brank like

if (health => 0 && ((self->client->NPC_class != PUT THE CLASS YOU CHOICE FOR THE RAKGHOUL, SHOULD BE FINE RANCOR OR WAMPA CLASS IF YOU GOT AN ANPC WITH CUSTOM GLA ANIMATION.    NPC &&Q_stricmp("Rakghoul",self->NPC_type))

for make it

G_PlayEffect( G_EffectIndex( "rakghoul/mutation" ), self->client->renderInfo.torsoPoint );

PUT REMOVAL BODY CODE

PUT SPAWN RAKGHOUL NPC CODE.

I don't know how NPCs are spawned offhand (try looking at what happens in g_cmds.cpp), but your code should definitely be in player_die, in g_combat.cpp. It handles both NPCs and players. You'll want to check if the killer is a Rakghoul and the deceased is not a Rakghoul. I disagree entirely that it needs a new force power.

• 3 weeks later...