[SOF2] Final fix for new hands

Guest KENNITHH

Guest KENNITHH

So we're working on our last project on SOF2 and want it to be perfect in the ways we can.

I'm not a pro in modelling stuff, and I dont have the guts or courage to learn the whole package but I know my way around in 3DSmax pretty well and know how to get things in game as you can see on this pic.

63fc8d3b3e1a0c5cd3bbdf99c68ca870.png

All fingers work great, except as you can see the arm is sticking through the glove (it's not attached to the glove). I assume this is a skinning issue but I have no idea on how to properly fix this specific thing.

So I was wondering if anyone could take a look at it and fix it perhaps? Or show me through teamviewer or a stream? As this error has occurred multiple times for me.

Sorry for bothering you with this

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ivmn9i5wyqwx0qz/newhands_test6.max?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/a8gpyfekzbxn9kx/newhands_test6_2010.max?dl=0

( :ph34r: @@Archangel35757, @@minilogoguy18, @@DT85, @@Boothand, @@IrocJeff, @@Psyk0Sith :ph34r: )

The high poly model you have in the scene has sketchy vertex weights, it should be ok in most situations but you'll get glitches unless you fix the issues by rotating bones around to see how the mesh deforms. When you rotate the metacarpal bone for example, the wrist / lower arm portion doesnt even follow correctly...it leaves a big hole because the verts are not shared at that border.

If you look at the low poly version, the mesh deforms correctly, it doesnt need anything complex because it's very basic...you can't do the same with the high poly version. I understand the need to split the model in sections but you need to do your rig before you split, that way you'll have uniform weights no matter how you split the model.

Also watch this if you haven't already

https://youtu.be/GhA83jzPl3M?t=16m57s

DT. and Archangel35757 like this
Guest KENNITHH