The Unreal Engine and the gaming industry

I'm kinda everything on this project. And technically while I am an artist, I am also the project lead. I admit I hate the regular UE3 editor, but have you worked with UDK? I find it to be alot smoother, and way less prone to crashes.

I have used UDK in the past. The main drawbacks to it are:

- Lack of console support

- Crashes aren't verbose at all and linkup with any sort of debug IDE costs money for the various toolsets (UE4 changes this I hear)

- Multiple projects on the same PC require multiple installations of UDK (wasting tons of space)

- It's rather bloated

- The tools and whatnot are a huge pain in the ass to use

- Can't change much of the net, graphics or other code and you can't change much of the toolset without going through (might differ since you're licensed with UE3)

For your project though, you should be fine with UDK as your project doesn't sound it will be too demanding to UDK (actually sounds like a perfect fit if you ask me). I just hate UDK.

Cthulhu and furries... I think you're onto a great idea here.

NO.

I have used UDK in the past. The main drawbacks to it are:

- Lack of console support

Ehh yes, it is true that you cannot just port your game to a console, this is something reserved to commercial versions of UE3 (and I mean full on companies not just commercial licenses). But then again to even develop on consoles in general (legally) you have to purchase development kits.

- Crashes aren't verbose at all.....

I get where your going with that, but honestly I cannot say I have ever had any crashes that I didn't already know what I did to kill the program, so that has never bothered me personally.

- The tools and whatnot are a huge pain in the ass to use.

I disagree...but then again, I took 2 entire courses on it, and I have been to several lectures on the engine when annually attending the East Coast Game Conference.