Model Lighting and Invisible Objects

Go to solution Solved by Psyk0Sith,

So, I have finally got the weights on the model I'm editing to work with the wonderful help of Milamber. But now I have two new problems:

The parts on my model have weird shading in game now. The light doesn't smooth from piece to piece. I have tried editing normals, which looked great in 3ds max 8, but ingame the edits don't seem to show at all. (For example, my head has darker shadows than my body, creating a very visible line of different lighting between the neck and the torso.) Also, two pieces I added, a hair and some claws, turn completely invisible when I try to use an alpha shader on them (to make them more jagged, etc). Now I know the shader I have works, because I use it on other hairs and outfits and such, on the same model before my edits as well on other parts of the model I'm editing. I can only assume something funky is going on with the model pieces themselves and I have no knowledge of how to fix it. Help!

lightingerrors.jpg

Bonus question: When skinning, every once in a while an image file pathname suddenly doesn't work in modview anymore. Ie, I had a model with the model part head_lashes, tied to a file called lashes.png. This file and the many .skin files that referenced it remained untouched for ages. Then one day, opened it in modview, and bam, it won't register any file called lashes.png. Rename to eyelashes.png, and it works. Rename back to lashes.png, definitely won't read it. I've had this happen with two other pieces. It's like modview just decides to reject a file name all of a sudden. And yes, I'm 100% certain the file paths are all correct, been using the same image/model/skins for about 5 years now. So... wut?

Milamember? :<